RHT Namilco Thunderbolt Flour and Vitality Cricket teams hand over home to Naidu


RHT Namilco Thunderbolt Captain Shawn Perriera (left) hands over house

keys to a proud Simon Naidu.

Kaieteur News – The Rose Hall Town Youth and Sports Club (RHTY&SC) Namilco Thunderbolt Flour Under-21 and First Division teams along with their Vitality Under-23 counterparts on Wednesday last handed over a home they constructed to Assistant Secretary/CEO, Simon Naidu.

The handing over of the home was the fulfillment of a commitment made by the club’s Secretary/CEO Hilbert Foster to Naidu who had sought Foster’s assistance to upgrade his family home which was in a state of despair and to construct a lower flat for him and his family.

Foster stated that the RHTY&SC M.S, over the last 31 years had successfully completed thousands of projects but was never involved in the construction of a house. He noted that the Club’ s parent body, the St Francis Community Developers has assisted hundreds of less fortunate families to obtain houses but this venture represented the first effort by the vibrant youth and sports club.

Foster, who is also the President of the Berbice Cricket Board (BCB) recalled that Naidu had approached him for assistance for the project and he readily agreed that the cricket teams would assist.

He further stated that as a 15 year-old, Naidu joined the club in 2015 and within one year was elected to the position of Assistant Secretary/CEO and over the last five years has played a major role in the work of the club.

The 21 year-old Naidu is now responsible for the day to day operations of the club office, serves as a cricket Manager at the junior level and is also the Public Relations Officer of the Berbice Cricket Board.
Under Naidu’s tenure, the BCB has the most progressive public relations campaign for any sports organisation in the country. Foster stated that with his young assistant in charge of the daily operations, he has been able to focus on his other duties especially at the BCB and the other organisations he is part of.

He described Naidu as a visionary, hard working and dedicated person who serves others without looking over his shoulder for personal rewards. An emotional Naidu stated that joining the RHTY&SC in 2015 was the best decision of his life.

A former member of the Albion Cricket Club, he was encouraged to join the Rose Hall Club by his classmate, West Indies U-19 player Kevlon Anderson. He stated that he never expected to be a part of the executive but noted that under Foster’s leadership, youths are given the opportunity to perform and that the word failure is not part of the RHTY&SC dictionary.

Naidu expressed gratitude to all the sponsors who came on board to assist, members of the club especially the Namilco Thunderbolt Flour U21, First Division and Vitality Inc. U23 teams. He committed himself to working even harder to make sure that the club remains the leading club in the country.
Captain of the Rose Hall Town Namilco Thunderbolt First Division team, Shawn Perriera handed over the keys to Naidu and congratulated him on being a homeowner at such a tender age.

Perriera, a former national youth captain stated that the club has had a positive influence on every single youth who have joined it since being formed in 1990 and hailed Foster as a positive role model and father figure.

The two teams are sponsored by the National Milling Company of Agricola and Vitality Inc. of Providence, respectively. Among the players in the teams are Kevin Sinclair, Kevlon Anderson, Clinton Pestano, Eon Hooper, Junior Sinclair, Shemaine Campblle, Shabaki Gajnabi, Sheneta Grimmond, Khemraj Mahadeo, Jonathan Rampersaud, Mahendra Gopilall, Jermey Sandia and Slyus Tyndall.
The RHTY&SC would like to express thanks to all its friends who came on board to support the construction of the home including Dr. Puran Singh, Brian Ramphal, Bissoondyal Singh, Mr. Kumar GK Inc., Abbas K Hamid (Vitality), Michael Khan, Anasha Ally, Chandradat Chintamani, Rajendra Daniel Sadeo, Lucille George, Ave Ramzan, Romaro Samaroo, Farfan and Mendes, Bakewell, Faizal Jafferaly, Hollis Schwiers, Sheik Mohammed, Shabika Gajnabi, Shimron Hetmyer, Zaeer Ali, Therbhuwan Jagdeo and Navendra Persaud.