top of page



English is the official language of Guyana, which is the only English speaking South American country.

Guyanese Creole (an English-based creole with AfricanIndian, and Amerindian syntax) is also widely spoken in Guyana. There are many sub-dialects of Guyanese creole which exist based on individuals’ geographical location, race and ethnicity.

Guyanese Hindustani is preserved and spoken by some Indo-Guyanese for cultural and religious reasons. Guyanese Bhojpuri, on which Hindustani is based, may be used by older generations, in folk songs, or in a limited way in the home.

A number of Amerindian languages is also spoken by a minority of the population. These include Cariban languages such as MacushiAkawaio and Wai-Wai and Arawakan languages such as Arawak (or Lokono) and Wapishana.

It is reported that due to the growing presence of Cubans and Venezuelans in the country, Spanish is heard more and more frequently especially in Georgetown and Barima-Waini/Region 1. Portuguese is also increasingly being used as a second language in Guyana, particularly in the south of the country, bordering on Brazil.  Spanish, Portuguese and French are taught in most secondary schools.

bottom of page